Georgetown, Guyana – (December 27, 2019) President David Granger and Ministers of the Government, this afternoon, met with the Chairperson of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Justice (ret’d) Claudette Singh SC, and the six Commissioners and pledged Government’s full support towards the body’s work in ensuring free, fair and credible elections on March 2, 2020.

Following the meeting, which was held at the Ministry of the Presidency, President Granger said that it was a very important engagement, which dealt with the readiness of the Commission to deliver credible elections and to determine whether the timelines, which the Commission itself had established would be complied with.

“The Commissioners spoke and I got the clear impression from the Chairman and all the Commissioners that they were quite satisfied that all the preparations for elections were on stream and that we can all look forward to having a credible and efficient elections by March 2. There were some minor issues, which had already been dealt with to the satisfaction of the Commission. So, the Government side is satisfied that Guyana is on stream to have efficient and credible elections on March 2, 2020,” he said.

President Granger noted that the Government of Guyana has complete confidence in the Chair of the Commission and the Commissioners. He therefore assured Guyanese that they can be guaranteed a free and fair elections on March 2.

“We are satisfied with the work that is taking place now and we feel that the Chair herself has got her finger on the pulse and will do everything within her ability to ensure we have credible elections. I would like to thank her and I would like to assure you that we will have efficient and credible elections. You can all look forward to that,” President Granger said.

Meanwhile, Director General of the Ministry of the Presidency, Mr. Joseph Harmon said that the Commission has indicated that the revised List of Electors would be available by December 29 as was previously indicated.

“The Commission has given us the assurance that they will work to ensure that by December 29, they meet that deadline of publishing that revised list,” he said.

Also in attendance at the meeting were Vice President and Minister of Public Security, Mr. Khemraj Ramjattan; Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Mr. Basil Williams; Minister of Public Infrastructure, Mr. David Patterson; Minister of Business, Mr. Haimraj Rajkumar; Minister within the Ministry of Communities with responsibility for Housing, Ms. Annette Ferguson and Minister of Public Service, Mrs. Tabitha Sarabo-Halley.

Accompanying Justice Singh were Chief Elections Officer, Mr. Keith Lowenfield, the Opposition Commissioners – Mr. Sase Gunraj, Mr. Robeson Benn and Ms. Bibi Shadick and the Government’s Commissioners –Mr. Charles Corbin, Mr. Vincent Alexander and Mr. Desmond Trotman.

Leave a Comment