Georgetown, Guyana — (January 8, 2017) The Ministry of the Presidency extends warmest congratulations to the newly-elected president and executive members of the Guyana Press Association (GPA).

On Sunday January 7, 2018 at its annual general meeting, the GPA, one of the oldest press bodies in the Caribbean, elected Ms. Nazima Raghubir as president. Ms. Raghubir is the first woman to be elected president of the GPA. She will sit at the helm of the organisation for the next two years. Other newly elected members include: Ms. Zoisa Fraser, Vice President, Ms. Fareeza Haniff, Treasurer, Mr. Royden James, Secretary/ Treasurer, and executive members, Ms. Ariana Gordon, Ms. Svetlana Marshall-Abrams, Mr. Denis Chabrol and Mr. Rawle Toney.

The Ministry acknowledges the importance and relevance of this esteemed organisation and anticipates great accomplishments under its new leadership.

Leave a Comment