Georgetown, Guyana – (August 13, 2019) The Protected Areas Commission (PAC) and the Ministry of the Presidency (MoTP), on August 7, 2019 signed a Project Financing Agreement for the implementation of the Guyana Protected Areas System Phase III (GPAS III).

The 4.8 million Euros project focuses on supporting the development of infrastructure in three protected areas in Guyana; community resource use (including livelihood related projects) and capacity building for effective management of the protected areas.

Commissioner of the Protected Areas Commission, Mrs. Denise Fraser, and Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of the Presidency, Ms. Abena Moore, signed the agreement on behalf of the respective agencies, to formalize the channelling of the project funds to the PAC for the implementation of the project, which is a requirement under the project agreement, signed with the donor, KfW Entwicklungsbank (German Development Bank).

The National Protected Areas System (NAPS) can now look forward to improved infrastructure through the protected areas in the form of a new Guest House at the Kaieteur National Park; Ranger stations and outposts at the Shell Beach Protected Area, Kanuku Mountains Protected Area and the Kaieteur National Park along with offices at Lethem and in Briama-Waini (Region One).

Administrative Director, Protected Areas Commission, Mrs. Denise Bentinck and Technical Officer, Ministry of the Presidency Ms. Natasha Ramdas witnessed the signing.

Guyana has already benefited from technical and financial support for the development of the NPAS under two phases of the project, which are expected to be completed by 2022.

With the continued support and cooperation between the KfW, the MoTP and the PAC, Guyana will move closer towards the Commission’s vision of a world class protected areas system that protects nature and improves lives.

Leave a Comment