Georgetown, Guyana – (January 28, 2018) President David Granger, last evening, hosted members of the Forbes Burnham Foundation at the Baridi Benab at State House, where they held their Annual Fund-Raising Dinner. This is the first in a series of activities that is being spearheaded by the Foundation to commemorate the 95th birth anniversary of Guyana’s first Executive President, Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham.

Making brief remarks at the event, President Granger spoke of the humble beginnings from which Mr. Burnham came and which, he believes, helped to shape his ideas and ideals. “Early in life he developed a strong commitment to Independence… He developed a strong commitment to the working class. He was committed to a multi-ethnic society,” he said.

Currently, there are four non-governmental organisations dedicated to the memory of Forbes Burnham. These are the Forbes Burnham Foundation, Burnham Education Scholarship Trust (BEST), Burnham Research Institute, and the Burnham Book Trust. President Granger said that the mission of these organisations remains relevant today as they were when they were first established. “Burnham was the right man, at the right place, at the right time,” he said.

Meanwhile, Chairman of the Forbes Burnham Foundation, Mr. Vincent Alexander explained that all funds raised from this or any event hosted by the Foundation, go directly into supporting its work. The Foundation hosts several activities leading to February 20, Mr. Burnham’s birth anniversary, and in August, his death anniversary.

Additionally, the body conducts a mentorship programme, targeting youths. “We induct every year, children, who are entering secondary school and seek to mentor them for the entire period, from first form to the last year of secondary school and we work with those children religiously,” Mr. Alexander said.

Linden Forbes Sampson Burnham, O.E., S.C., B.A., LL.B, was born on February 20, 1923 in British Guiana. He founded the People’s National Congress (PNC) in 1957 and was elected the first Executive President of Guyana in 1980. He died on August 6, 1985.

Leave a Comment