DSC 0041

Georgetown, Guyana – (August 21, 2016) President David Granger, this evening, attended the opening ceremony for Mining Week activities, a yearly event organised by the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) and the Ministry of Natural Resources. The ceremony was held at the Pegasus Hotel and also included an awards ceremony for outstanding performances and contributions in the sector. 

Delivering the welcome and opening remarks, acting Commissioner of the GGMC, Mr. Newell Dennison said that this year’s observances, are organised around the theme ‘Extracting Minerals; Underscoring Safety; Protecting the Environment’. Mining Week, he said, will afford the opportunity to educate, demonstrate, illustrate and encourage conversation on this triad theme. GGMC, the acting Commissioner said, has been working round the clock and will continue to work towards the overall safety and good management of the sector.

Minister of Business, Mr. Dominic Gaskin, presents the Top Producer Award to the representative of Adamantium Holdings.

On the Awards platform Adamantium Holdings was awarded Top Producer for Gold, Mohamed’s Enterprise copped Top Dealer, Mr. La Goin Luiz Sequeira took home the award for Top Producer (Diamonds) while RUSAL and Bosai Mining Companies took the top honours for Bauxite.

The Top Quarry Producer award went to Toolsie Persaud Limited while the top Sand Producer went to Lybsur Sand and Quarry. Guyana Goldfields Incorporated was awarded for its Safety practices, Mr. Winslow Higgins for innovation and Ms. Kevin Jeffrey for ethics.

DSC 0063

Minister of Business, Mr. Dominic Gaskin, presents the Top Dealer Award to Mr. Mohamed of Mohamed’s Enterprise.

Ms. Wavney Phillipe, Ms Cyrilda DeJesus, Mr. Anthony Shields, Mr. Horace James and Mr. Dick Manning were all awarded as Icons of the industry, while Mr. Clifford Stanley (Guyana Chronicle), Mr. Gaulbert Sutherland (Stabroek News) and Mr. Jarryl Bryan (Kaieteur News) were awarded for their coverage of the sector.

The event was also attended by Vice President and Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr. Carl Greenidge, Minister of Indigenous Peoples’ Affairs, Mr. Sydney Allicock, Minister of Business, Mr. Dominic Gaskin, Minister within the Ministry of Education, Ms. Nicolette Henry as well as members of the mining community.

Leave a Comment