Georgetown, Guyana – (April 02, 2016) President David Granger has congratulated the mayors and deputy mayors, who were elected by their Town Councils as a result of the Local Government Elections, held on March 18, 2016.

The new mayors and deputies are Anna Regiona; Rabindranath Mohan and Darshan Persaud, Bartica; Gifford Marshall and Nageshwarie ‘Kamal’ Persaud, Corriverton; Ganesh Gangadin and Jaichand Krishand, Georgetown; Patricia Chase-Green and Sherod Duncan, Lethem; Carlton Beckles and Maxine-Ann Welch, Linden; Carwyn Holland and Waneka Arrindell, New Amsterdam; Kurt Wynter and Winifred Haywood and Rosehall; Vijay Kumar Ramoo and Dave Budhoo.

The President reminds mayors that one of the principal economic benefits to be achieved by the return of local democratic elections would be the opportunity to create new municipalities – at Bartica, Lethem and Mabaruma. These will join the existing six towns at Anna Regina, Corriverton, Georgetown, Linden, New Amsterdam and Rose Hall.

The President emphasised that the new ‘capital towns’ are all administrative centres of their respective regions. They would be expected to lead economic development in each region by encouraging infrastructure extension, investment, information and communications technology and innovation.

He expects that the new ‘capital towns’ will be better equipped to attract investment, promote business and drive the economic development of the country’s ten regions.

Leave a Comment